acacia logo
acacia learning logo

Recognised and respected by employers around the world, CMI management and leadership qualifications are considered the standard-bearer for current and aspiring managers.

The skills learners gain throughout the qualifications reflect the standard duties of management professionals, ultimately preparing them to apply their newly acquired high-level of knowledge to their role, enabling them to lead individuals and teams with confidence in the face of the challenges ahead.

Why study a CMI Management Qualification?

The Chartered Management Institute (CMI) is regarded as the leading authority for management, leadership and business pre-eminence and has been advocating for the development of strategic management knowledge and skills for over 75 years. 

Incorporated under a Royal Charter, with over 180,000 professional members currently, the Chartered Management Institute is the only organisation worldwide that can award a Chartered Manager status, viewed as the ultimate accolade a manager can receive in their profession.

Chartered Manager status is viewed as acknowledgement of individuals’ exceptional leadership capabilities and their commitment to continual professional development. 

Notably, the credibility gained through their array of CMI qualifications, along with the ability to award Chartered Manager status, provide impressive additions to management professionals’ CVs, helping add value both to their careers as well as their organisations.

According to research commissioned by the CMI:

  • The average pay rise for a manager, as a result of being awarded the Chartered status, is £13k
  • It is estimated that each Chartered Manager boosts their organisation’s revenue by £62k every year
  • 81% of Chartered Managers claim that their skills have improved as a result of the CMI qualifications, while 76% said that the Chartered Manager status provides the “ultimate competitive advantage”.

What do the CMI qualifications cover and how are they assessed?

CMI qualifications are offered at a number of different levels - Level 2 through to Level 8 - based on the learners’ educational background and professional experience.

CMI Certificates allow for a broader base of knowledge and skills to be developed, while CMI Diplomas tend to provide a more comprehensive and extensive learning programme. At Acacia, however, we offer CMI qualifications specific to those looking to elevate their careers as a mid to senior level manager or leader.

For context, the CMI Level 5 qualifications are designed for mid-level managers and focus on the development of core management skills such as managing resources, recruitment and information management. The CMI Level 7 qualifications, on the other hand, are aimed towards senior managers who have a responsibility of translating organisational strategy into effective performance. 

CMI Level 5 Certificate in Management & Leadership

This course gives learners the opportunity to master the key strategic skills that will contribute towards successful mid-level management. Through the course, learners will also learn how to effectively lead, manage and develop, both individuals and teams, in order to achieve lasting results and organisational objectives using the best practice techniques and principles.

This qualification is assessed through two online written assignments, one for each module studied, with each assignment consisting of 3,000 to 4,000 words.

CMI Level 5 Diploma in Management & Leadership 

This course is designed to hone in on and refine learners’ existing managerial skills, to ultimately prepare them for mid-level management positions. It is the ideal qualification for the enhancement of management and leadership knowledge and tactical skills. 

The CMI level 5 Diploma also explores the management of projects and performance, along with the implementation of changes, through the use of data for evidence-based decisions. 

Assessments for this qualification consist of online written assignments between 3,000 to 4,000 words. Learners will be required to complete one assignment for each of the module options they chose. 

CMI Level 7 Certificate in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice

Designed for senior managers, the CMI Level 7 Certificate aims to equip management professionals with the essential skills and knowledge required to effectively plan and adapt their organisation’s practices as a result of complex challenges that may arise. It also focuses on how to set and deliver long-lasting objectives.

Assessment for this qualification includes one written assignment for each of the modules chosen to study. Each written assignment must be between 3,500 to 4,500 words.

CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice 

This course explores the theories and practices of managing people, projects, data, change, organisational strategy or OD&D at the highest level, while also helping learners develop complex leadership skills. This in turn enables them to manage individual and team performance, by advocating for equality and diversity as well as mentoring their teams for success. 

For the CMI Level 7 Diploma, online written assignments are expected to be submitted consisting of 3,500 to 4,500 words. One assignment for each module selected must be submitted.

How much do the CMI qualifications cost?

While professional qualifications can be costly, Acacia Learning provides interest-free payment plans in instalments to help learners better manage the cost of their qualification by spreading the payment of their studies out over a period.

The prices listed below also include examination fees, however, they do not include the additional cost of the CMI registration fee.

CMI Level 5 Certificate in Management & Leadership: £1,019.

CMI Level 5 Diploma in Management & Leadership: £2,039 

CMI Level 7 Certificate in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice: £1,525.

CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice: £2,549

How long does it take to gain a CMI Management Qualification?

All CMI qualifications offered by Acacia Learning are 100% online, enabling learners to claim complete control over their learning pace and schedule without the need to sacrifice professional and personal obligations. 

Additionally, extended support periods allow learners to complete their professional qualifications as quickly or as slowly as they wish, without the added stress of continuously making sure they are on-top-of their studies. 

CMI Level 5 Certificate in Management & Leadership

On average, this course takes 8 months to complete, however, a support period of up to 15 months is included. 

CMI Level 5 Diploma in Management & Leadership 

This course takes 12 to 15 months to complete with a support period of up to 18 months included. 

CMI Level 7 Certificate in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice

Generally the average completion time for the CMI Level 7 Certificate is 4 to 6 months, with Acacia Learning providing learners with a support period of up to 15 months

CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice 

For the CMI Level 7 Diploma, the average completion time is between 8 to 12 months with a support period of up to 18 months

Upon successful completion of a CMI Diplomas, and after having gained 3+ years experience in management positions, candidates are able to apply for the Chartered Manager status: the ultimate professional accolade for managers internationally.

However, it is important to highlight that only CMI Diplomas, Level 5 and above, can qualify candidates to gain the Chartered Manager Status. The CMI Certificates do not qualify. 


Thrive in your management career with 100% online CMI qualification. Enrol today and gain the highly sought after CMI Chartered Manager status.